Play Lawn Darts

photo courtesy of mastermind toys

Let me start this off by saying I do not think it is smart for anyone of any age or cognitive status to play with the old, pointy version of lawn darts.  I say this not only because I don’t want you to sue me, but also because I had the pleasure of watching one skewer my uncle’s foot in what was obviously a very memorable family reunion.

That lovely story out of the way, down to business.  Lawn darks is kind of mix of horseshoes and regular darts.  Individuals take turns throwing darts into the ring, with points awarded based on where the land.  Traditionally, points are scored when a dart lands in the target area. If both players get a dart in the ring , the scores cancel each other.  However, there are other versions, which are summed up nicely by this Wikipedia article, so I won’t bore you with my rambling summary.   It also informed me that the pointy, terrifying lawn darts of the past are no longer for sale in the US or Canada.  Now, lawn darts generally have weighted, rounded tips instead.

In any case, lawn darts is a game that can be enjoyed by anyone who can still throw underhand, which is stay just about anyone.  Even those in the severe stages of dementia should still be able to throw the dart, though they may need the target moved closer or someone to help guide their hand through the motion until a few times until their long-term “muscle memory” is triggered. 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

